.:.

.: Rice Bowl :.

menu

.: today :: all entries :: email me :: love notes::me :.

.:.

.: Pu Pu Platter :.

travel

.: photogs :: 176 things about me :: MySpace::Reviews:: design:: pattern:: d*land:.

.: Pixie's Pals :.

Irishblueyes
clarity25
leonmcphelps
fargahar
pinkbowshoe
juddhole
bohemianlife
redsirenbody
pumpkin144
kitty-kaboom
singlegirl
fallmode
porktornado
goingloopy
chickie-legs
galaxy
ventichai

.:.

.: What are you doing with this???? :.

Ok, so as obvious as it is, I have really never stopped to ponder on the issue of how far this society has come in the past 40 years. It hit me today as my dad was cleaning out his bedroom closet, ridding it of years of useless memorabilia that he had saved. We got a few good laughs at things we had come across. We found pictures that we (meaning me & my 3 sisters) had made for our parents, newspapers from presidential elections for Nixon, Reagan, & Bush, the pages and pages of medical bills from when i was born, and a box of checks that my dad had saved from the first year that he and my mom were married. He pulled the first few checks out an read them to us. $81 for rent, $4.72 for their electric, 5.12 for their phone bill. All of these changes, economicly speaking, are apparent. But it wasn't until my mom came acrossed a certain book, that i really began to think about how times have changed.

My mom pulled a book down from the closet shelf that was covered in sivler aluminum foil. She turned to the middle and slammed it shut just as quickly as she had opened it. Well, of course this got the curiosity going. I snatched the book out of my moms hands and turned to the front page. No wonder curiosity killed the cat! "The Joy of Sex." I immediately mimicked my mothers actions, but not because of the pictures. I felt nauseous. What in the hell were my parents doing with a book like that!? They don't doooo that kind of stuff! Where did they get it, and more importantly, why did they still have it!? I have always thought it that I was either A.) Immaculately concepted, B.) Left by the stork, or C.) Adopted. My parents are PARENTS, they don't have ...sex.

Well, as I was going through my silent trauma, my sister came in the room and took a seat next to me. We fumbled through the pages, stopping just long enough to note how the female that was illustrated was in some desperate need of some "landscaping", if you know what i mean. We also came to the conclusion that the male figure had to be the lead singer from the BeeGees. Well, his face looked like him anyway. The book is a tad out dated, to say the least. And there we were. Dad cleaning out the closet, stopping long enough to look up and acknowledge our comments. Me & my sister, flipping through this hilarious book. And my virgin mother, standing over my shoulder, commenting on how gross the pictures were. Times have changed. Can you imagine, 50 years ago a family all sitting around getting a good laugh together while reading "The Joy of Sex"?

This indirectly leads to my next thought:

If we have changed this much over the past 4 decades, what the hell is it going to be like in the next 4??? Will I, too, find myself standing over my childs shoulder while we are watching a sex-ed show on the floating plasma tv, commenting on how the guys balls are unproportional with his penis??? The very thought is frightening.....

Peace out.

.:.

.: 11:14 p.m. :.
.: January 17, 2004 :.

.:.

.: yin :: yang :.

bamboozle